How to be: a beer and a kiss before I go

YYL IntroI’ve not blogged in months, at least not on a personal level (but for paying gigs, yes). Many, many embarrassingly long months. If you know me well, you know the last two plus years have been — what the’s the best word — complicated. But the wonderful news is, that chapter is coming to a close. Although the next is not yet decided, I am excited for whatever it may bring.

What I do know and can share is this, whatever is next, it will be entirely different than anything else in the last 19 years of my life. As many of you know, I have been in the movie theater and film distribution business since I was 16. Shoveling popcorn and tearing tickets was the very first job I ever had. Never did the idea it would turn into a career cross my mind. Especially since, at that time, I was absurdly obsessed with anything and everything hockey. However, one thing lead to another, I blinked, and there I was at 35 still in “the industry”. From here to LA and countless trips around the country, I have enjoyed every single experience I’ve had because of this business. If I listed every wonderful memory, person, place, and thing I have because of it, we would be here for quite some time and you would never read a single thing I posted again. Trust me, it’s absurd how long a list it is. Though I will admit meeting Seth MacFarlane is without a doubt on top. (You knew I wasn’t getting through this without mentioning that, don’t lie).

The aforementioned complicated past two years have resulted in a lot of soul searching. Should I leave the business, should I move back to LA, should I just stay here, should I say screw it all and move to a beach. The questions (and tears…and wine) have been endless. But about six weeks ago, I decided the time for great change had come. Although I am not sure I’ll spend the rest of my life in Dallas, I’m certain it’s not yet time to leave. For many reasons. But it is time for me to leave the industry. This was not an easy decision. But I am ready to grow, to change, to meet new people, and find out what life is like when Monday’s mood isn’t determined by the box office and your next boss knows nothing about your personal life. Wherever I end up next, it will be a fabulous adventure and I know my experience will serve me well. And for that and everything else mentioned, I am thankful.

When I started this post, I had no intentions of writing about that. Funny how things play out. What I meant to write about was this blog. This poor, neglected blog. Really, I get the connection though. Change and such. I’ve given a lot of thought to what direction I want to take a personal blog: food, wine, travel, books (so many books), career, passions, or what? Really, why can’t it be about all of them? All of the things that make people happy, whether they’ve made a career out of it or just do it because it puts the occasional smile on their face. Really and truly this is a mix of a 2.0 version of Stay Lovely, Dallas (my previous blog, all its posts can be found on here) and many other ideas I’ve had. But now it’s about more than Dallas. And it’s about more than me.

To those of you I’ve worked with over the past 16 years, thank you. I love you and I’ll miss you. But also know, I am very, very excited.

3 thoughts on “How to be: a beer and a kiss before I go

  1. Kelly says:

    You are a trail blazer and whatever you do will undoubtedly be amazing. Whatever you do, do it with all your heart and embrace it. Life is an adventure. Make it one you’ll have stories to tell of.

    • Nikki says:

      You are so sweet! Thank you for such kind words. I’ve not said anything on FB, but you’ve been in my thoughts. I know you’re going through a really hard time and speaking from experience, I promise you, you will get through this with flying colors and be even more fabulous because of it! I am not going to tell you everything happens for a reason cause girl, I am SICK of hearing that! Xo.

  2. Kelly says:

    Thank you!! I appreciate the kind words and especially for the ones you didn’t say, ha! You are amazing and have always been an inspiration, even back when you were my boss at UA. Keep being fierce!

Leave a Reply

