Where to shop: Trader Joe’s on Lowest Greenville

tjs 1Like most people who move to California, I eventually became a disciple of shopping at and all things Trader Joe’s. I will admit, though, you more than likely won’t get it the first time you walk in the door. Your first thought will be, hold up…this is it? But once you start learning your way through the aisles and become familiar with their products (the majority of the products are their own brand), you’ll be addicted. I had a Ralph’s walking distance from my apartment in Studio City and a Kroger a few blocks away here in the M Streets, but both then and now I shop(ped) mostly at TJ’s. I was beyond excited when they started opening in DFW, especially the one on Lowest Greenville. Since it’s mere minutes away.

tjs 2You’ll quickly discover they’re extremely price friendly on the majority of products, not just the wine! Buying organic at TJ’s is often cheaper than buying non-organic at regular grocery stores. This is super helpful because I try to eat at home as much as possible these days, both for cost and health conscious reasons. And since this is more or less a health, wellness and happiness blog, I have to include TJ’s, as they make eating well so much easier. But don’t get me wrong, folks! I know about and have consumed the Cookie Butter, dark chocolate pistachio bark, multiple types of brie cheeses and the peanut butter and jelly chocolate bars. You could also easily weigh 479 lbs. shopping there if you let yourself (pumpkin butter, anyone?) But TJ’s really and truly make eating yummy and healthy food simpler. Many of their veggies are already sliced/cut/chopped/shredded, packaged and ready to go. I love it, because as much as I adore cooking, my kitchen is the size of a postage stamp, I have a thousand animals who like to crowd the chef and try to participate and we all of course get pinched for time. Last weekend, while admittedly shopping for notsohealthy items for Super Bowl recipes, the Cruciferous Crunch Collection caught my eye. It has all my absolute favorite veggies…IN ONE BAG. Kale, Brussels sprouts, broccoli and two colors of cabbage already cut. I had to refrain from going through the entire bag in two days. There are multiple ways to eat it, but my favorites so far? One, sautéed in olive oil and mixed with toasted pine nuts and quinoa and two, blended with hummus and spread on organic multi-grain toast (both from TJ’s as well).

Another reason I love me some TJs actually has nothing to do with food. It’s the flowers! Here’s an excerpt from Apartment Therapy’s January Cure (which has turned into my February Cure cause I’m so bad at organizing and cleaning, can my future husband get me a maid to go with the house he’s going to buy me? Please and thank you) about buying fresh flowers, which is an assignment for each weekend and something I completely agree with:

This might seem like something that is skippable but it is actually a very important part of the Cure. Think of the purchase as a gift to your home. It is an enjoyable, (affordable!) luxury but it goes far beyond just that. The flowers are a visual symbol of your commitment to caring for your home. In the Eight Step Home Cure, Maxwell wrote: As simple as it sounds, the act of buying flowers for your apartment holds great significance and will heal your home on many levels.They are beautiful, they add life to the space, they help to humidify and cleanse the air. Try and find time to pick up flowers on Friday if at all possible so you can enjoy them all weekend.

If you’re keeping a close watch on expenditures but still want to indulge in this simple pleasure, TJ’s is the perfect place at which to purchase fresh flowers. There are many kinds, many sizes, all gorgeous…and all cheap. Here are three bouquets I picked up a couple of weekends ago, I don’t remember which was which, but they were $3.99, $4.99 and $5.99. So $15 total for three bouquets of flowers. I put them on my desk, in the living room and on the bedside table. The three places I spend the most time.

flowers 1 flowers 3 flowers 2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

For those of you out West or new converts in Dallas, what are your fave finds at TJ’s?

Xo, Nikki

2 thoughts on “Where to shop: Trader Joe’s on Lowest Greenville

  1. erindyan says:

    Oh gosh. All of it, though. All of it. I’m a TJ devotee. The frozen Indian food dinners the veggie dumpling with rice and veggies? SO GOOD). The cucumber/dill/yogurt dip- frozen, dark chocolate covered banana slice- the coconut ‘chips’- flatbreads- produce- oh, and my all time fave, it’s bad, don’t care, blue cheese and roasted pecan dip on the multi grain pita crackers with flaxseed. TO DIE FOR!

    • Nikki says:

      Omg I have wanted to try that blue cheese and pecan dip so bad!!! I’ll have to get it next time. Everything in moderation right? And that cucumber dill dip? I’ve stuffed my face with it and the Pretzel thins on multiple occasions!

Leave a Reply

