Where to shop: World Market

letterI absolutely despise junk mail. I am by no means wealthy, but somehow in LA and now in Dallas I’ve resided in rather shiny zip codes when it comes to advertising (over 10 years in marketing has at least taught me that). So the amount of crap I receive each week borders on ridiculous. Oh wait, the 473 loyalty programs and email lists of which I’m a part don’t help? Anyhow, I’ve never really taken time to look at it until yesterday. Desperate times (unemployment) call for desperate measures. And turns out, there are a lot of good coupons and bargains in there! Who knew?!

Yesterday’s haul included a coupon to World Market. It was just 10% of your total purchase, but given that I haven’t been able to buy anything but necessities for quite some time, this coupon might as well have been pure gold. I’ve learned to appreciate the small gestures. This week I’ve worked on one of my January Cure projects, which is sprucing up my workspace. Originally I was going to focus on deep cleaning the kitchen cabinets (sexy!), but this blog came about. I figured if I was going to put a legitimate effort into it, I needed an organized and Nikki-fied space in which to do it. Beforehand, my desk was a cross between a purse and mail vomit receptacle and a cat bed. One wouldn’t have called it inviting. I also do most of my morning rituals sitting here, so I wanted some sort of small spiritual token and a new candle to add. What better place to find these lovely objects than World Market?

I love the one on Greenville in Old Town, though the one on Oak Lawn is also nice. Truthfully, I could spend hours walking around any World Market. It sounds ludicrous, but this place just makes me happy. If you love to travel or have an affinity for any specific foreign country, you know you’re bound to find some small treasure or food stuff reminiscent of it. This is where you could find Orangina and Nutella before they were mass marketed in the United States. It’s where I finally found the delicious tea served in the hostel at which my friends and I stayed in London in 2004. This is where you can find beers from quite possibly every country (except Brazil, why no Brahma beer, World Market?!) and this is no secret, it’s where you can find some fabulous wine, both in quality and cost. My only warning is this, it’s like walking the home aisles at Target, you’ll want to redecorate your entire life.

Below are pictures I snuck of some of my favorite things. Maybe some Valentine’s inspirations for you people who have people.

wine tea collection sweetheart tea napkins meditation collection his and hers mugs happy tea chairs card blood and honey

Aren’t those his and hers coffee mugs ADORABLE? The last pic is one of the current, most popular local craft beers. Craft beer has exploded over the last year in Dallas. And I know I’m not alone in my love for Revolver’s Blood & Honey. So good. Some time soon I’ll take us on a virtual visit to my favorite craft beer joint on Lowest Greenville. You know, when I can drink.

Until then, here is my new desk companion, a little Ganesha. He was the perfect addition!

ganeshFrom Wikipedia: Ganesha is widely revered as the remover of obstacles, the patron of arts and sciences and the deva of intellect and wisdom. As the god of beginnings, he is honored at the start of rituals and ceremonies. Ganesha is also invoked as patron of letters and learning during writing sessions.

Xo, Nikki

Leave a Reply

