How to be: 2014

2014I’ve never been a proponent of counting down the days until a year is over. Or when its last days are upon us, bemoaning what a terrible year it was and blasting social media with all that went wrong. I believe every year serves its purpose. However, I struggled immensely with not doing ALL of that in the last few weeks of 2013. It was not a kind year. My grandmother died, I went through a terrible, very unpleasant breakup (and I can’t seem to stop finding out additional information that makes it all worse) and also experienced my first layoff and subsequent unemployment. A situation I’ve not been able to remedy yet. For anyone else going through a long-standing job search, let’s grab a drink. Or four.

Through all of this, there has been one silver lining. I’ve re-established my faith and will be joining a new church this coming weekend. Through all of the studying and meditation I’ve done, I know that I’m right where I need to be. Although it may not be comfortable and no light at the end of the tunnel is visible, this whole experience will serve a greater purpose. I repeated these words to myself over and over again as 2013 wound down. And I put myself to task making big plans for 2014. I will make this my year.

New Years Resolutions are always ambitiously made and rarely kept. I had two pages of absolute gibberish for mine. I started wondering, if I couldn’t organize my goals for the year, how in the world was I going to organize myself for the year? Plus I didn’t want the stereotypical “lose weight” and “save money” mantras. Those are things I need to be doing regardless if it’s the start of a new year. Then I came across a post by Lauren Conrad  (on whom I’ve developed a massive girl crush!) on Pinterest, which laid out eight resolutions of stunning perfection. Naturally I have to share –

1. A bad habit I’m going to break

Drinking too much too often. This has to stop, for many reasons. Most of all my sanity and so I don’t have to self-edit on Twitter and Instagram the next morning! What does the stuff I say even mean?! In addition, my sailor mouth? It must go.

2. A destination I’d like to visit

I haven’t been out of this country since 2004. I’ve let my younger self down so very much. Traveling was always the number one thing I yearned to do while growing up, as we never vacationed when I was a kid. I know that marriage, divorce, moving to Los Angeles and back and all the little adventures in between got in the way. But no more excuses. And one thing I certainly learned to do in 2013 was live on less. So it’s time to save pennies for world travels. One of my good girlfriends in LA is going to Barcelona in June (BARCELONA!), should I get a job soon (God, are you listening? It’s me, Nikki. Again.) I have every intention of joining her.

3. I’m going to work harder at

My spiritual practice and being a better Christian. Gosh I know that sounds cheesy to some. But this is my own journey and not something I would ever press upon anyone else, but I’m here if anyone needs guidance or inspiration. I’m by no means perfect and this is a day-to-day discipline, which does not come easily to me. I have an advanced degree in self-doubt and self-loathing.

I’d also love to start promoting AdvoCare more. I’ve been a part of this fabulous, encouraging company for awhile now. They have genuine integrity and I stand by our products 100%. I’ll have plenty of posts about this in the future. I’ve learned many healthy benefits and uses.

4. A project I’d like to finish

On a small scale, I’d love to finally complete the AdvoCare 24-Day Challenge. In full disclosure, I’ve attempted this SEVERAL times and have continued to fail for ridiculous reasons. I just started on Jan. 6 and am determined to make it work for me this time. I’ve learned some new tricks and done a lot of research (seriously, Pinterest is the BEST) so I have a kitchen and brain full of ammunition right now! Again, more on that later.

On a larger scale, admitting this out loud is difficult, but I’ve never been an organized or tidy person. Domestic chaos comes natural to me. Therefore, Apartment Therapy’s January Cure has become my daily devotional. I may already be behind though…whoopsies.

5. A class I’d like to take

I MUST learn basic sewing. Is anyone else disappointed that home economics was no longer a requirement by the time our generation hit high school? Thank goodness I’ve taught myself to cook. But sewing? Forget about it. I would love to just walk into Joann Fabrics and pick out exactly the pattern I want and make my own stinking throw pillows! Who’s with me on this?!

6. I’d like to spend more time doing

Making and sending handcrafted/written cards. Yoga. Cooking. The cooking thing I’m all over right now because of the challenge.

7. A food I want to eat more of

Cupcakes. Cause they’re the best thing ever. And anything vegan. I seriously mean this. I will never be a full-blown vegan; I was born and raised in TEXAS. And my favorite Dallas restaurant is a steakhouse (Nick & Sam’s). So I would just like to incorporate more recipes and items into my diet.

8. I want to wear more of

Lovely perfume. I just got two Jo Malone samples and they’re splendid. And my biggest superficial DREAM is to finally wear high heels again. I broke my ankle almost two years ago and the metal is havoc on my bones. As soon as my insurance kicks in (from work or via Obamacare) this hardware is coming out, my friends.

Alas, what about you? I challenge you to fill this out and see where it takes you this year.

Xo, Nikki

4 thoughts on “How to be: 2014

  1. Taylor says:

    1. A bad habit I’m going to break
    Need to get unnecessary spending under control. While I am awesome and deserve to reward myself for the hard work I put in at my job and doing the Stars blogging thing, I can’t reward myself ALL the time!

    2. A destination I’d like to visit
    I will be going out of the country this year – and I think I’m going to Europe somewhere. I don’t know where yet, but it’s going to happen. And it might even be by myself. Because I want to be able to tell my future daughter/niece/young people that traveling by yourself is exciting and allows you to find YOU.

    3. I’m going to work harder at
    Finding that elusive work-life balance. And finding energy to stick with things I want to do this year.

    4. A project I’d like to finish
    A daily card with my hopes/dreams/wishes/thoughts on them for each day of the year this year. I want to take it in 2015 and see how much I accomplish throughout the year and what I have left to accomplish in the next year. It also helps to center your thoughts on the positive and the future, instead of on the negative and the past.

    5. A class I’d like to take
    A nutrition class, so I can make smarter eating choices.

    6. I’d like to spend more time doing
    Reading books and cooking.

    7. A food I want to eat more of
    Breakfast tacos. I’m convinced this might be the best breakfast food of all time.

    8. I want to wear more of
    Head-turning shoes. Something different that isn’t the usual black pump/boot/sneaker. In fun shades or interesting styles or both!

    • Nikki says:

      Sweet Taylor! Thank you so much for sharing this with me! These are wonderful. I’ve often thought about going to Europe by myself as well. I think it would be amazing and quite adventurous. My mother might murder me, but I’m assuming that would be worth it?

      Breakfast tacos ARE the best food of all time, next to cupcakes. Breadwinners has some of my favorites. As soon as I’m off the 24-Day Challenge, we need a brunch date there. Deal?

      And as soon as I get this stupid metal out of my body and can wear heels again, we’ll go shopping for head-turning shoes together. Cause I miss them…so very much.

  2. Jessica Fritsche says:

    1. A bad habit I’m going to break
    Not saving money. We need savings like whoa…for school payments, for down payments, for rainy days, for emergencies. I need to make like a real grown up and save some damn cash.

    2. A destination I’d like to visit
    Somewhere I’ve never been, WITH YOU. We’ve never taken a vacation together and that needs to happen. Road trip?

    3. I’m going to work harder at
    Being more dedicated to my own dreams. I’m the first to put them off after a stressful day in favor of Netflix and Pinterest because it’s easier when I don’t have to think. Making them come true is not going to be, and is not supposed to be, easy. I also need to work harder at allowing myself to let go of stress and fear.

    4. A project I’d like to finish
    Our house (phase 1…or is this just phase 0? I don’t know). I’d like to get each room to a state of at least sort-of decorated rather than feeling like we still just moved in almost two years later. Also, I want to stay dedicated to my Project Life book because I’m kind of loving the idea of having a year’s worth of memories saved.

    5. A class I’d like to take
    All of them. Seriously. I want to learn so much. I signed up for a Skillshare class about how to hand-letter, and I want to take some modern calligraphy courses because I used to love doing that SO much and it’s so much cooler and prettier these days. I want to re-learn how to sew, too, because I have that gorgeous machine I’m not using. And I want to take a class on knife skills so I stop almost losing a finger every time I chop something.

    6. I’d like to spend more time doing
    Being present and intentional. Time moves fast and I feel like I don’t see my friends enough, don’t spend enough time with S doing things other than just hanging around when we’re not both working (and it only gets harder with him in school), don’t spend enough time on me. I need to live more in the moment and less for the future.

    7. A food I want to eat more of
    Salad. I love salads but need to learn how to make them properly so they’re both healthy AND delicious (because you know my life motto might as well be “this needs more cheese”), and I need some variety in my foodstuffs.

    8. I want to wear more of
    Red lipstick. Dresses. Manis and pedis. Things that make me feel flirty and feminine and powerful and polished.

    • Nikki says:

      I say we look into some cooking classes at Sur la Table once I get a job and have monies! And yes, road trip please. I really want to do the Texas wine country. I can feel the pain I will inflict having to twist your arm on that one.

Leave a Reply

